BOOTLEG BLOG

FFXIV log!

10/14/2024

Endwalker Spoilers AAAAA I HAVE SO MUCH TO CATCH Y'ALL UP ON

First, Meteion getting the message back from her sisters, oh god. Instantly, INSTANTLY Fandaniel makes so much more sense.

His very project to answer his question of what the point of life is being answered with nothing, that all life is pointless, to the point that her creation Meteion becomes a being of nihilism itself set to destroy the world, just for Hermes to side with Meteion.

The scene of trying to escape before the memory wipe goes off was TENSE AS FUCK, Emet's final words to you FUCKING HUUUUURT.

And as we get back I FUCKING LOVED THE SCENE OF US RETURNING, god I love you so much Alisaie. FUCKING adored Estinien making a jab at Alphinaud and Alisaie's father.

And, and Alphinaud proving to his dad that he and Alisaie have been doing great work, and him holding them, father officially redeeemed. Fascinating character, bad actions with pure intentions.

AND AND AND AND THEEEEEE THE FUCKING SCENE WITH URIANGER!!!!!! SEEING MEON'S PARENTS!!!!!! I CRIED, I CRIED, I CRIED LIKE A BABY!!!!! Urianger my beloveeeed

10/11/2024

Endwalker Spoilers Oh my god I love how playful Venat is, you would never guess she becomess Hydaelyn.

And I cannot blame Emet for not believing what you claim he ends up doing, it hurts.

10/10/2024

Endwalker Spoilers I feel incredibly lucky that the caster role quest is in Ishgard, I can't really understand why it is instead of melee DPS or tank but I'll take it, Ishgard is a very close contender for my favorite main area only really competing with The Crystarium.

WE'RE IN THE FUCKING PAST???? THAT'S WHAT THEY MEANT ABOUT KNOWING ME?? HELLO??? I am so interested now holy shit.

Genuinely so satisfying to see Emet's actual face, glad he looks just as fucking grumpy and snarky as he does in Solus's body.

I fucking adore Meteion, she's so so sweet, my immediate assumption upon seeing her is that she becomes Elidibus until I realize she's a girl, so unless Elidibus is trans I doubt that's the case.

10/09/2024

Endwalker Spoilers Ohhh the scene of Alphinaud and Alisaie promising their dad that they WILL find a way to stop the Final Days was so good, it's clear that their father WANTS to side with them, wants to help them, but he feels like he can't, be it ego or something more.

Anyways, the fucking scene where you basically get to pick which Scion(+ Estinien) you want to give you a pep talk is so so so good, I went with G'raha for character reasons(I should make a page for Kona ngl) and because G'raha telling me to rest could fix me.

I wanna go back and look at the Estinien one though, that man is physically incapable of expressing care without slipping in an insult or jest in there, I need to know how my emotionally shut off Estinien does it.

Oh my god the scene of G'raha rangling and calming the people of Radz-at-Han, seeing him go from "G'raha Tia the Scion" to "Crystal Exarch the Leader" is fucking chilling. He's seen this all before, he needs to stop it.

Thinking about the time I played so dogshit on a trial but still managed to get one comm that I guarantee is purely because I used rez on one of our healers.


10/08/2024

Endwalker Spoilers The fact that Zodiark is ALREADY dead makes me really wanna know what the fuck happens next.

Adore the moon rabbits they are so so silly.

URIANGERRRRR :""""") This man keeps being burdened by so much, seeing him able to talk about it is very touching. God bless this man.

10/07/2024

Doing some leveling roulettes as Gunbreaker to try to rid myself of tanking anxiety, briefly fucked up in a dungeon by forgetting to turn on my tank stance, but my team was super chill and afterwards told me I did a really good job. Love how chill this community is.


10/06/2024

I lied

Endwalker Spoilers I'M ON THE MOON ALREADY!? Maybe I am going through this expansion too fast. Like Garlemald being here feels so fucking satisfying after the many ominous shots of Ascians on it.

Seeing the vague appearance of Zodiark makes me very intrigued. We haven't seen him yet as far as I know.

WHAT THE DOG DOIN

Yeah uh, Fandaniel was not kidding when he said he wanted to die and take everyone down with him. I'll probably do the trial tomorrow since I don't have the time today.

10/05/2024

Made some glamour for my Gunbreaker! I really like it, I now have glamour for my Red Mage, my Sage, and my Gunbreaker. Probably gonna go for glamour for my Dragoon and Dancer next. I have ideas for both.

I'm gonna take a tiny break from the MSQ just so I don't speed through it since I'm gonna hold off from buying Dawntrail for a little bit, either until it goes on sale or when I have money to splurge.


10/04/2024

Finished the downstairs portion of the free company house(at least for now) and I'm very happy with it!

Endwalker Spoilers Finally being able to enter Garlemald after it being so important to the story for so long feels so satisfying, even moreso since we're actually here to help the people, or, try to.

It is actively heartbreaking to see so many people walk face first into their death just because the idea of magic users helping them seems physically impossible. Watching Quintus take his own life because he sees working with us that much of a betrayal of his ideals is nauseating. I hope peace is possible between us all.

Also, I don't know if this was intentional, but having Estinien standing in front of a little boy crying over his father's death is fucking heartbreaking. I don't know if the parallel with Estinien being there and his parents being dead was actually intentional but it hurts like hell.

ZENOS TOOK ME ON A DATE AND THEN STOLE MY FUCKING SKIN WHAT THE FUCK IS GOING ON

10/02/2024

Endwalker Spoilers I am so happy that I went with the 3 himbos first, Estinien is so so stupid. He does look fantastic with his ponytail though.

The free company I'm part of finally was able to get a house! And I've been given the privilege of decorating it! This'll be a lot of fun. And a lot of gil spent.


10/01/2024

Officially in Endwalker!! Super excired, Shadowbringers was fucking fantastic. I doubt it'll beat it but I've heard it's close in quality.


09/30/2024

Next extreme! This one was significantly easier, yet somehow there was a lot more of "wait, what killed me?" moment. (ignoring the many times I walked directly into mechanics oops)

I'm gonna shoot for playing Sage next extreme so I can get some more intense practice in (plus lvl 50 Sage is, extremely easy) and so I don't get burnt out on Red Mage

Post-Shadowbringers Spoilers Oh my fucking god the cutscene of Estinien and Alisaie meeting was fucking perfect.

Estinien is fucking stupid, AND G'RAHA BEING AN ADORABLE DORK????

Oh yeah, Fandaniel is fucking unhinged. Massive change from our previous 2 tragic Ascians.

09/29/2024

Post-Shadowbringers Spoilers AAAA G'RAHA'S MEMORIES WENT THROUGH AND NOW HE'S A MEMBER OF THE SCIONS!!!!

Oh my god I wanna give him 5000000 kisses on the forehead and shove him into a locker he's so so cute.

I was so busy crying that I forgot to talk about it yesterday, but I clutch saved my party from a wipe in a dungeon yesterday as Red Mage with it's weirdly useful rez spell. I felt, so fucking cool.


09/28/2024

Post-Shadowbringers Spoilers Oh, I am, crushed.

G'raha is easily one of my favorite characters currently and, I. I think that's the hardest I've cried to this game since the end of the Dragonsong war.

I guess I can't officially call him dead, his body still exists in The Source and I have his memories on me. But, he's gone right now, and it fucking hurts.



We'll meet again.

Uh, heartbreak out of the way, my Lancer officially got upgraded to Dragoon and I got suitably jumpscared by a certain Azure Dragoon.

09/27/2024

Shadowbringers Spoilers FUCK FUCK FUCK I FORGOT TO UPDATE THIS BLOG BUT OH MY FUCKING GOD UH UH UH UH

So so so I got to the final lightwarden also known as Vauthry with a lot of anxiety because a conversation earlier between Urianger and Y'shtola implied I wouldn't be able to handle the light.

Then the Exarch shows up, claiming that all of this was a selfish ploy in order for him and himself alone to travel between worlds, but his act is exposed when Urianger yells at the rest of the group to not do anything.

It clicks in Y'shtola's mind, he doesn't intend to teleport at all, it's to vague to be the truth. He intends to take the rest of the light and go into the rift, where he will die.

As this happens, his hood is pushed down by the wind.

IT'S G'RAHA!! G'RAHA WHO WAS LOCKED AWAY IN THE CRYSTAL TOWER!!!! I STARTED CRYING LIKE A FUCKING BABY!!

He's been here for years, somewhere from 50-90, and yet... He's always been waiting for you, his inspiration.

AND DON'T GET ME FUCKING STARTED ON SHADOWBRINGER'S ENDING

ARDBERT MY BELOVEEEEEEED

*violently sobbing* let's move on to Post-Shadowbringers

09/23/2024

I completed my first Extreme raid with a group of friends! Was super intense but extremely satisfying by the end of it.



Makes me really wanna get back to learning healer and tank for the sake of people not getting locked to a specific role in the future.

Shadowbringers Spoilers OHHHHHH MY FUCKING HEART

Thancred, Thancred my beloved, the fight with Vauthry's underling(I've already forgotten his name) was so fucking well done, I was so so excpeting Thancred to be dead there, Minfillia becoming her own individual as The Oracle Of Light wished, Thancred living and naming her Ryne.

I... AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA

I think this is the most I've cried since the scene you save Estinien in Post-Heavensward, what a good dad.

09/17/2024

Shadowbringers Spoilers I am super curious about Thancred, this man was completely broken by one of his closest bonds basically ascending to godhood, and now in this new dimension he's found her reborn, he seems extremely protective, probably why he's a tank class now.

Urianger looks fucking fantastic btw.

Oh.,.. oyuchj.. ouch my soul... Poor fucking Thancred. But the Oracle of Light is right, this version of Minfillia needs to be able to choose her own fate without the Light's hand. But I can't blame him, I can;t blame him for hurting.

In other news, Urianger canonically cannot swim, me too man don't worry

09/16/2024

Post-Stormblood Spoilers Ok, so a fuckton happened that I need to log since I was trying to get through as much of Post-Stormblood as possible.

Yotsuyu's redemption arc was amazing, she is an amazing example of a product of her enviroment, she'll never be forgiven by the people, but she doesn't need to be, because for just a moment she got to be Tsuyu, a sweet girl with a caring father.

God, poor Gosetsu, love you so much Gosetsu.

Anyways, fucking, what the fuck is happening, everyone's souls are getting snatched, Alphinaud is in the middle of fuck-off nowhere, it's just me and Alisaie, the Red Mage sisters, I need to continue the story today.

Had a feeling that our 'Shadowhunter' in question was Gaius, really cool to see him again, hope we see him again in the future.

Love the song that plays whenever Solus is on screen, it's perfect for his smug asshole attitude.

BRO I WAS JOKING ABOUT THE IMPERIALS BEING NAZIS AND THEN SUDDENLY THEY DROP THE PHRASE "perfect singular race" HELLO??? me when the fucked up dictator reminds me of real fucked up dictators.



Guess what time it is.

Shadowbringers Spoilers ok holy shit holyu fuck, I just did a good chunkj of the opening and I have a lot to say

First of all, saw Tataru cry and then cried, next, HELLO???? BEAUTIFUL NEW AREA????

It is so fucking gorgeous here in The First.

Poor fucking Urianger, once again being cursed by knowledge. But I am very excited to see my friends again..

And what I think is most important... The Warrior Of Darkness, Arbert, he's back and I am so so fucking happy, his story was so interesting and I was worried I'd never see him again. He is a spirit of some sorts it seems, he is also my boyfriend's ACTUAL favorite character.

Jesus christ horrors beyond my comprehension, sin eaters are terrifying.

09/14/2024

Stormblood Spoilers I beat Stormblood!! Really fucking good ending, love love Lyse, Zenos is a great villain.



I can definitely see why people prefer Heavensward, I share that opinion, but it's still a very strong story overall, just a little wonky pacing.

Post-Stormblood Spoilers GOSETSU'S ALIVE LET'S FUCKING GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO

Got to the flashback scene with Nanamo jumping into Raubahn's arms and SCREAMED they are so fucking cute, I'm so happy to see more of Nanamo

I HAD TO FUCKING DOUBLE TAKE WHAT DO YOU MEAAAAN GODBERT MENTION IN MAIN SCENERIO, ARE WE GONNA GO SEE HIM???

I'm glad that Godbert is clothed when meeting Nanamo.

oogh, oufgh, I cried, I cried, I cried when Nanamo dismissed Raubahn from his duties to allow him to now watch over his homeland, ouch, owe, I love them.

09/13/2024

Stormblood Spoilers Zenos is a fucking terrifying antagonist, he keeps similar energy as Sephiroth but 10 times scarier due to his appearance.

He has however taken Krile hostage so it is now time to KILL HIM

09/12/2024

Stormblood Spoilers I am in agony

I got very emotionally attached to Gosetsu very quickly, so needless to say, his death HURT

I feel like I should've seen it coming, the game itself draws attention to him coming to acceptance of his own inevitable death, he had fulfilled is role and was ready to die in peace.

But FUCK MAN

09/07/2024



I am not immune to giving my character cute little outfits

grinding out botanist put me in such a meditative state 3 hours passed without me noticing what the fuck.


09/02/2024

Unlocked Sage and decided to try it as my first healer despite the fact I've been told it's a bad idea, but I actually love it! Genuinely I think Sage might become my secondary main, it can admittedly be extremely overstimulating, especially when your tank is a Blue Mage (long story) but it's fun in small doses.


09/01/2024

Got some new glamour and touched up my adventurer plate a bit!

Stormblood Spoilers FUCK that scared me, Y'shtola is severely injured but alive, I was so so fucking scared she was gone, I can't emotionally take another death, and neither could Lyse.

08/31/2024

Post-Heavensward Spoilers I'd literally die for Lyse, I am also so excited to see more Yugiri.

And with that I'm done with Post-Heavansward, onward to Stormblood!


08/30/2024

Post-Heavensward Spoilers The Warrior of Darkness was such a fucking good antagonist despite how short he was in the story, I've always been a massive sucker for the "what if the protagonist but fucked up" trope and it was done great here, I like that he's modelled after the general default design for the FFXIV protagonist.

And I am very thankful that Urianger was not a traitor and moreso actively trying to save the Warriors of Darkness from their own failings. I love Urianger he's so cool.

He's also very attractive.

PAPALYMO NOOOOOOO FUCK WHY WE JUST GOT YOU BACK AAAAAAAAAAAAAA

08/29/2024

I've been really enjoying samurai and dancer, tbf with dancer I'm kinda having to teach the class to myself because it's one of the very few classes my boyfriend hasn't really played all that much. But samurai is super simple and to the point so I haven't needed much with that one.


08/28/2024

Started grinding up Lancer and finally playing other classes again. I'm gonna attempt to slowly start leveling Black Mage up again, it was the class I started with but I found it way too difficult.

I also went ahead and unlocked Blue Mage so I can fuck around with that now.


08/21/2024

I went ahead and unlocked all the jobs I can at this point. I'm starting to get a tiny bit bored of Red Mage so I wanna shake it up. I think I'm gonna start trying to learn Dancer, it looks super fun.


08/20/2024

POST-HEAVENSWARD SPOILERS I'm starting to actually get curious on these Warriors of Darkness guys. At first I was extremely uninterested but they actually seem kinda interesting now.

Going from the main story to the Hildibrand questline is so funny every single time, like yeah I gotta pause saving the world and helping a whole ass country to interact with this fucking idiot.


08/10/2024

Please I beg of you please play Final Fantasy 14

POST-HEAVENSWARD SPOILERS Heyyyy guess who just completed An End to the Song!! I am crying.

I just, words cannot describe how satisfying of an ending this is. Estinien is ok, Hraesfelgr(definitely spelling his name wrong) is ok. They really did have to go and hurt me with the spirits of Ysale and Haurchefant giving the last amount of strength in order to save Estinien from being overtaken by Niddhog.

And the music, oh my fucking god the music, I started tearing up before the Niddhog fight even started, which was fucking fantastic by the way.

I think Estinien had my favorite character arc, he shows what Nidhogg could've been if he had the comrads he did. God I love Estinien.

07/05/2024

Did some dailys with a friend of mine I don't get to talk to very often which was super fun. Mostly leveling roulettes. It was fun seeing his reaction that I was suddenly the exact same type of au-ra as him since he hadn't seen my character since I was a cat girl lol.

Red Mage feels so wrong to play at any level under 50, it's so incomplete it's weird. This class is literally not made to exist under that level.

POST-HEAVENSWARD SPOILERS The music of Zenith feel extremely melancholic with Ysayle being gone, I enjoy her the more time passes, a deeply misunderstood person.

I can't describe why but I love the dialog with the dragons when they speak in their native tongue, it truly gives the energy of these long lived creatures that border on the line of immortality, and it truly sounds like it's own language rather than just made up sounds, I wonder if it actually is some old language.

07/01/2024

SPOILERS FOR POST-HEAVENSWARD Genuinely popped off so fucking hard when I got the chance to do a 1 on 1 battle with Raubahn, he's just, he's so fucking cool.

06/28/2024

I don't have much time to play before work so I logged on to look at the updated engine and it looks so good!!



Look at her. :)


06/18/2024

SPOILERS FOR HEAVENSWARD + POST-HEAVENSWARD Completed Heavensward and moving onto Post-Heavensward, really really loved this arc in the story, Aymeric is a super interesting character, same with Estinien, hope he'll be ok after being forcibly turned into Niddhog.

I teared up a little bit at the sight of Haurchefant's grave, that death just hurts the longer the game goes on honestly.

Finally been introduced to Krile, my boyfriend is pretty confident she's gonna be one of my favorites and I can see why, I really really like her so far.

Thancred's back!!! Looking very badass I must add.

06/12/2024

SPOILERS FOR HEAVENSWARD I had a feeling that Ysayle would die, her intense guilt made her feel primed for a self-sacrifice, but that doesn't make it hurt any less. But even in all his stubbornness, Estinien showing respect for Ysayle at the end warmed my heart. No matter how much they clashed he can still show respect for someone who saved his life at that very moment.

06/11/2024

SPOILERS FOR HEAVENSWARD Y'shtola is alive!!! I really really hope that means the others are too, her new outfit is cool as fuck too. Seeing Tataru so happy to see her friend again legit made me tear up. I love Tataru so much.

06/09/2024

SPOILERS FOR HEAVENSWARD Holy shit, I was not expecting it at all. Haurchefant is dead. I did not fucking expect him to get killed off at all, he was super likeable too, he will definitely be missed. Porr Aymeric. Both a dog shit father and a good friend lost.

My boyfriend told me that somewhere in the game Hauchefant is given a grave and when Heavensward first released and people were starting to beat it, a large amount of the player base gathered at his grave, that's sweet as fuck.

Without spoilers I finally completed the Red Mage level 60 quest, I was tearing my hair out to beat it.
Also love the Jessie cameo, god I gotta play FF7.


06/08/2024

Final Fantasy 14

SPOILERS FOR HEAVENSWARD Nanamo is alive and safe and Niddhog has been slain, Estinien is such a badass holy shit, he's so cool. He's really grown on me, I will not like I was a bit unsure of him at first because of how blood thirsty he seemed.

06/04/2024

Gunbreaker unlocked! It's gonna take a minute to adjust but I'll definitely try to get it down.


06/03/2024

SPOILERS FOR HEAVENSWARD Among a lot of other things I've gotten to the reveal that Nanamo may still be alive, which I hope so for Raubahn's sake. I love Raubahn so much. I also learned more of the context around the dragons and the story of the woman who offered herself to be consumed by the dragon in order for their souls to be one.

Which sounds weird as fuck out of context but y'know average JRPG moment.

06/01/2024

SPOILERS FOR POST-ARR So I may have cried a tiny bit when Tataru failed to become a summoner and is now leaving to do her own adventure, I know we'll see her again but, I love her, I love her so much she's my little baby. She will do a great job because she's perfect and amazing in every single way.

(several hours later, after watching THE cutscene where Nanamo gets assassinated)

Holy fuck, hoooly fuck, poor Raubahn, poor Alphinaud, poor Minfilia, I am definitely invested now.
And, Tataru comforting Alphinaud, I, god.
Well, that's Post-ARR done, now onward to Heavensward.

I went ahead and unlocked Machinist, though I doubt I'll be playing it just yet, I'm more excited to unlock Gunbreaker.


05/31/2024

Completed the 3rd crytal tower raid in order to advance the story, though I might honestly go through the whole raid series, it's super fun.

SPOILERS FOR THE CRYSTAL TOWER RAIDS I genuinely fucking popped off when Cid saved Nero last minute, he's just so fucking cool. Wish he was in the mainline story more but I'm glad he exists in the raids.

05/29/2024

>Got 2/3 of the crystal tower raids done, been having a lot of fun with them. The amount of players is so cool and chaotic I love it. I'm also just happy to have more content of Cid.


05/19/2024

Getting closer to completing Post-ARR, keep consistently getting blown away by the music in this game.


04/25/2024

minor spoilers for post-ARR, click to read Alphinaud has seriously grown on me, I was admittedly suspicious of him when he was first introduced, but now he's probably the character I'm most invested in, at least for now, Tataru being a close second, she's so cute.

Nanamo crying was an extremely heartbreaking thing to see, I can't blame her honestly I'd have a mental breakdown in her shoes too.

04/20/2024

Instead of actually continuing the main story quest line I've been doing the goofy ass gentlemen quest series and it's genuinely the first time a joke quest has made me actually laugh in any RPG or MMO.

It also makes the player character's blank stare infinitely funnier when she's just staring at a bunch of dumbasses without doing a thing.


04/18/2024

As much as I like the twin ponytails I decided to change Kona's hair so it didn't look off whenever she had a hat on, along with some other minor changes, I like how she looks like now a lot more. (This is also now my Discord icon.)


04/16/2024

Did some ocean fishing for the first time and it was extremely fun!! Definitly gonna do more fishing in this game.



I gotta get more glamour for my character fr.

I also tried out PVP, which red mage happens to be the absolute worse class for lmao. It was fun in a chaotic way.


04/15/2024

Minor Post-ARR story spoilers ahead, click to read I got to Thornmarch, the first proper 8 player trial I've done. Though I did lose my shit to the boss theme because it sounds so incredibly similar to "This is Halloween" from Nightmare Before Christmas.

Infinitely funnier because the story starts getting pretty tense right afterwards, complete tonal shift, I called the white arcian a pussy.

I did some fishing grinding today, any game that has a fish mini-game is always an immediate 10/10. Will spend all my time on being the best fisher.


04/14/2024

>Outside of my typical daily stuff, I ran the benchmark for dawntrail to make sure I'll still be able to run the game in the new graphics engine.

Despite my shitty computer it actually ran pretty alright! Kona looks so much better in it too.


04/13/2024

I'm starting to get a hang of Red Mage, it honestly might become my main class instead of monk, just need to get better at it.

Today I spent some money on a world transfer so I could join the free company my boyfriend's in, along with that we spent a lot of time at the Golden Saucer, which I absolutely adore, the minigames are so fun, might be my go-to AFK spot now.



Screenshot of our characters, he's a paladin main.


04/12/2024

In FFXIV I'm reaching near the end of ARR(aka where the game's free trial story ends I think? doesn't matter since I'm paying for it now) but I had to grind up for a dungeon so here's an image of my character Kurarin waiting for enemies to respawn for my hunting log

I completed ARR! Now going through post-ARR, I was contemplating maybe making a dedicated page for FFXIV for the story, but I think I'm gonna pass on it.

I was waiting for the moment I could, I have changed Kurarin's appearance!



Her proper first name is Kona btw, full name Kona Kurarin, just not her ingame name(yet), she may be scary looking with her eyes but she's actually extremely hyperactive and bubbly, don't be shy. :)

I'm also starting the quests to unlock both red mage and samurai.

Did you know? Just because your form of suffering is consider lesser than anothers doesn't make it invalid. As a saying goes;
"someone drowning in 20 feet water may not be as deep as someone drowning in 150 feet water, but they're still drowning regardless."